
Parking violations offices

The summons

NYC Dept. of Finance, Parking Violations
Mailing address: P.O. Box 2127, Peck Slip Station 

New York, NY 10272-2127
 Helpline: 212-504-4041 or 311(212-New York)

Finance Business Center hours:
8:30 a.m-4:30 p.m, Monday-Friday

Bronx: 3030 Third Ave., 2nd Fl.
Brooklyn: 210 Joralemon St.

Queens: 144-06 94th Ave.
Staten Island: 350 St. Marks Place, 1st Fl.

Manhattan: 66 John St.
To request a hearing-by-mail:

NYC Dept. of Finance,
Hearings-by-Mail Unit

P.O. Box 29021, Cadman Plaza Station
Brooklyn, NY 11202-9021

Internet access:
www.nyc.gov/finance

Appeals Board Address:
If ticket has been paid: NYC, Dept. of Finance, 

Adjudication Div., 66 John St., 3rd Fl.
New York, NY 10038-3772

If ticket hasn’t been paid: NYC Dept. of Finance, 
Adjudication Division, P.O. Box 2030, Peck Slip 

Station, New York, NY 10272-2030

When you receive a summons for a parking violation, 
the ticket instructs you how to respond. You have three 
options:

1.	 Plead Guilty (admitting liability to the charges) 
and pay the fine

2.	 Plead Not Guilty and accept a settlement offer 
of a fine reduction

3.	 Plead Not Guilty and request a hearing

Whichever option you choose, you should photocopy 
the original summons (front and back) and any 
supporting documentation or payments made. The city 
is required to send a second notice of violation if you 
fail to respond within 30 days of the issuance of the first 
summons. You have 20 days from the date of issuance 
of the second notice to respond.
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Dear Motorist:

Dealing with the New York City Department of 
Finance’s Parking Violations Operations (PVO)  
unit can be confusing and frustrating.

That is one of the reasons the state Legislature 
passed a law making it easier for motorists to 
dispute defective parking tickets. As a result of this 
law, motorists can have a parking ticket dismissed 
if it is incomplete, illegible, incorrectly described 
or missing information.

Internet access is also available. Motorists can 
look up a parking ticket, fight a summons, pay a 
parking violation or request a hearing and submit 
their defense at Finance’s website: www.nyc.gov/
finance. If I can be of additional assistance in this 
or any other matter, please contact me.

Sincerely,

Edward C. Braunstein
Member of Assembly

Assemblyman 
Edward C. 
Braunstein 

www.assembly.state.ny.us

District Office
213-33 39th Avenue, Suite 238

Bayside, NY 11361 
718-357-3588

Albany Office
Room 528, Legislative Office Building 

Albany, NY 12248 
518-455-5425

E-mail
braunsteine@assembly.state.ny.us



or stolen and evidence of the prompt replacement 
of the items from the NYS Department of Motor 
Vehicles (DMV) or other issuing authority. If you 
are claiming the vehicle that received the summons 
is not your vehicle, but another car with your stolen 
plates attached, submit this information with an 
explanation.

◆◆Stolen vehicle – With this defense, you may 
submit a copy of the police report and a statement 
from your insurance company saying the vehicle was 
deleted from your insurance policy.

◆◆Sold/transferred vehicle – With this defense, you 
may submit a copy of any transfer paperwork and a 
statement from your insurance company saying the 
vehicle was deleted from your insurance policy; and 
NYS DMV receipt for plates or transfer of plates.

Your defense to 
parking tickets

Requesting a Hearing-By-Mail
◆◆ Return the ticket, with the top box completed 

and the “Not Guilty” box checked

◆◆ Attach a letter explaining why you should be 
found not guilty of the violations

◆◆ Attach copies of any evidence you wish to 
present

Evidence can include, but is not limited to: 
testimonies, photos, repair bills, police reports, DMV 
or insurance company reports and towing bills. Keep 
copies of everything that you send to the Department 
of Finance for your records.

Mail to:  NYC Dept. of Finance, Hearings–by– 
Mail Unit, P.O. Box 29021, Cadman Plaza Station, 
Brooklyn, NY 11202-9021

To appeal on the web, log on to www.nyc.gov/
finance, click on Parking and Vehicles, then Parking 
Tickets.

Note: Effective March 21, 2010, drivers will have 
a five-minute grace period past the expired time on 
Muni-Meter receipts, Alternate Side Parking signs 
and any other parking spaces with specific times 
listed (e.g. 8:30 a.m.-9:30 a.m.). Parking tickets 
cannot be issued during the five-minute grace 
period.

Consequences of 
failing to respond

The Department of Finance does not issue parking 
tickets. Finance’s job is to make sure that the agencies 
responsible for issuing tickets did so correctly or hear 
your explanation of why a ticket should not have 
been issued.

The following information can help you decide 
if you should challenge your ticket or not. State 
law requires a parking ticket be dismissed if it 
is incomplete, illegible, incorrectly described or 
missing information. When conducting a hearing, 
Finance will review recently issued summonses 
for these defects and if any exist, the ticket will be 
dismissed.

General defenses: Using these defenses does not 
guarantee a dismissal of any violation.

◆◆Medical emergency – When you are involved in 
an unexpected medical emergency affecting a human 
being. You may submit: hospital or clinic emergency 
admission paperwork; a statement from medical 
personnel; a statement from school personnel that 
a parent or guardian was called to school for a 
medical emergency (planned medical appointments 
or procedures cannot be used for a general defense).

◆◆Location does not exist – Submissions may 
include a copy of a street map and/or verification 
from the post office and/or New York City tax 
information that verify a location does not exist.

◆◆Disabled vehicle – A vehicle that is disabled must 
be pushed to the side of the road so that it obstructs 
traffic as little as possible; it must be removed as 
soon as possible. You may submit documentation 
indicating the unexpectedly disabled vehicle was 
quickly removed and the bills/receipts showing the 
nature of the repairs to the vehicle. 

◆◆Authorized vehicle – For a defense, you may 
submit: a copy of the front and back of a permit with 
a brief explanation of the circumstances that caused 
the violation to be issued.

◆◆Lost or stolen plates and/or registration items 
– If you claim your license plates or registration 
items were lost or stolen, you may submit a copy of 
the police report stating that the item has been lost 

Paying the 
parking ticket
You can pay your parking ticket in several ways:

◆◆Pay online using your credit or debit card (there 
is a $2 per ticket service fee)

◆◆Pay by mail with a check or money order by 
following the instructions on the back of the 
ticket. Remember to make payment out to “NYC 
Department of Finance.” Put the ticket number, 
your license plate number and the state of the 
vehicle registration on the front of your payment.

◆◆Pay by phone by calling 212-504-4041. There is 
a $2 per ticket service fee.

◆◆Pay in person by visiting any Finance Business 
Center (listed on front of this brochure) and pay by 
cash, check, money order, credit card or your debit 
card. (U.S. currency and U.S. banks only).There is a 
$2 fee when paying with a credit or debit card.

Failing to respond to the first and second notice of 
violation may subject you to the suspension and 
non-renewal of the owner’s registration, additional 
penalties, and a default judgment.

•	Additional penalties: You must enter a plea 
within 30 days of the issuance of the summons to 
avoid an additional $10 penalty. Entry of a plea 
more than 45 days, but less than 76 days from the 
date of the summons, subjects you to another $20 
penalty, raising the total additional penalties to $30. 
An additional $30 penalty is imposed upon persons 
entering a plea more than 75 days from the date of 
the summons, raising the total in additional penalties 
to $60.
•	Default judgments: Failure to enter a plea, to 
appear at a hearing, or to comply with a determination 
is deemed an admission of liability, which is grounds 
for a default judgment. Before a default judgment 
can be entered, Parking Violations is required to 
notify you of the violation charged, of the impending 
default judgment, that the judgment shall be entered 
in the Civil Court and that a default may be avoided 
by entering a plea or making an appearance within 
30 days of the sending of the notice.

An entry of default judgment against you could 
result in:

◆◆ assignment of your account to a collections 
attorney or agency

◆◆ booting, towing and sale of your motor 
vehicle

◆◆ seizure of other non-exempt personal property

◆◆ restraining of your bank accounts

◆◆ garnishment of your non-exempt wages

◆◆ non-renewal of your motor vehicle 
registration, if you have unsatisfied 
judgments on three or more summonses 
within an 18-month period

◆◆ placement of a lien against your real property

•Satisfaction of default judgment: If a judgment 
was filed against you, you should secure a 
“Satisfaction of Judgment” when you pay. You can 
get this form at any help center upon presentation 
of proof of payment. The satisfaction must be filed 
with the Office of the County Clerk to show the lien 
has been fulfilled. The county clerk will then issue a 
“Certificate of Disposition.” Once again, it is a good 
idea to keep all your records.

Appeals
If you plead “Not Guilty” and Parking Violations 
renders a “Guilty” verdict, you may appeal it to the 
Parking Violations Appeals Board within 30 days of 
the decision. To file an appeal, you should serve a 
notice of appeal on the PVO in writing, either per-
sonally or by certified or registered mail, within 30 
days of the entry of the final determination. The ap-
peal notice must state the reasons why the final de-
termination should be reversed or modified. No new 
evidence can be presented in appeal.

Filing a notice of appeal does not necessarily stop 
enforcement of the final determination and you 
may still have to pay the fine. However, the Appeals 
Board could direct a stay or you could post a bond 
in the full amount on/before filing the appeal notice.


