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Getting a money judgment
If the custodial parent keeps accurate 
records of the amount owed, the 
courts can issue a money judgment. 
A judgment is very important because 
without it, there could be a problem 
collecting support. It’s good for 20 
years, and even if the parent doesn’t 
have any money when it is issued, it 
can still be enforced if he or she has 
money in the future.

Seizing assets or placing 
property liens
The CSEU can freeze the obligated 
parent’s bank account, IRA, or other 
financial assets and seize the amount 
of money owed. The CSEU can also 
place a lien on real estate or personal 
property, like cars or boats, after four 
months of failing to pay support.

Jail
A court can also impose a jail sentence 
for willful refusal to pay court ordered 
support.
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Suffolk County Department of Social Services
3085 Veterans Memorial Highway., Ronkonkoma, NY 11779
Service Center Hours: Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. (excluding county holiday closures.)
Language services available at all sites. Telephone: 631-854-9935 • Emergency: 631-854-9100 (after 4:30 p.m. & weekends)

Suffolk County Child Support Enforcement Bureau
New Intake:  �For persons not on temporary assistance, call 631-854-3183 or write to: 

Child Support Enforcement Bureau - Intake Unit, P.O. Box 18030, Hauppauge, NY 11788-8830 
For persons who have applied for temporary assistance and who do not yet have a child support order, call 631-854-3281.
Support orders payable through Child Support Office:
Persons who currently have support orders payable through Suffolk Child Support Office and who are not receiving support:
All payment information call 1-800-846-0773 (24 hours/7 days a week)
All other questions call the Child Support Customer Service HELPLINE at 1-888-208-4485, TTY# 1-866-875-9975.
(8:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m., Monday through Friday)

Need more 
information 
about child 

support?
Office of Temporary and 

Disability Assistance, Division 
of Child Support Enforcement 

www.childsupport.ny.gov/dcse/
home.html

Child Support Helpline at:
888-208-4485

TTY: 866-875-9975
Mon.-Fri., 8 a.m. - 7 p.m.

Dear Friend,
Financial support is a child’s right and a parent’s 

responsibility. That’s why, under New York State law, children are 
entitled to adequate child support from their parents – even if the 
parents aren’t living together.

This brochure outlines the responsibilities of parents 
under New York’s child support system. It also explains ways 
for custodial parents to make sure they are getting the support 
their children deserve. This brochure is informational in nature, 
and is not meant to be a substitute for advice from an attorney 
or information from your local Department of Social Services 
Child Support Enforcement Unit (CSEU) or the Child Support 
Collection Unit (SCU). Please check with these sources before 
making any decisions regarding child support. If I can be of 
additional help in this or any other matter, please do not hesitate 
to let me know.

Sincerely,

Alfred C. Graf
Member of Assembly

Room 433 LOB, Albany, NY 12248 - 518-455-5937
991 Main Street, Suite 202, Holbrook, NY 11741

631-585-0230
grafa@assembly.state.ny.us
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www.assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Alfred C. Graf
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The facts about child support
Child support is based 
on state guidelines.

The Child Support Standards Act requires 
the courts to issue fair, adequate and standardized 
support awards for all New York children. With 
that in mind, child support is based on the 
adjusted gross annual income of both parents.

The combined adjusted gross income of 
the parents is multiplied by the following 
percentages:

•	17 percent for 1 child
•	25 percent for 2 children
•	29 percent for 3 children
•	31 percent for 4 children
•	no less than 35 percent for 5 or more children

The child support obligation is then divided 
proportionately between the parents, based on 
their respective incomes.

The court can deviate from the standardized 
award when it finds the support established in a 
particular case is inappropriate or unjust based 
on factors such as the financial resources of the 
parents, the child’s physical or emotional health, 
or special needs.

The child support obligation is made up of 
the percentage amount plus the child care, health 
care and educational expenses.

Health care, child care and education 
costs are divided between the parents.
Courts must order the parent who has health 
insurance coverage available to him/her that 
may be extended or obtained to enroll a child in 
his or her health insurance plan if the insurance 
is reasonable in cost and reasonably accessible. 

When medical coverage is ordered, insurers and 
employers must enroll the child immediately. 
In most situations, private health care is shared 
proportionately between the parents based on 
their incomes. Where private health insurance 
coverage is unavailable to parents, the court must 
order parents to seek coverage through New 
York’s Child Health Plus program or Medicaid.

When the custodial parent is working or 
going to school, child care costs are shared 
proportionately between the parents based on 
their incomes and added to the child support 
award. If the custodial parent is looking for 
work, the court may, but does not have to, 
apportion child care costs between the parents.

If the court determines post-secondary, 
private, special, or enriched education is in the 
best interest of the child, these expenses may 
also be added to child support paid by the non-
custodial parent.

The Child Support Enforcement Unit 
will determine any adjustments.
If you receive services through the CSEU, your 
order will be reviewed automatically, or upon 
your request, on a periodic basis and you will be 
notified when a cost-of-living adjustment may be 
made to increase your order based on changes in 
the consumer price index.

 You may also petition the court to modify 
your order of support when there is a substantial 
change in your or the noncustodial parent’s 
circumstances, or upon the passage of three years 
or a 15 percent or more change in either parent’s 
gross income since the most recent child support 
order was entered.

How to get the support your child deserves
The Legislature has strengthened and 

simplified the methods for enforcing child 
support orders. Many of these methods 
can be used to collect overdue spousal 
maintenance also owed to you. In addition, 
the CSEU may be able to help locate a 
nonpaying parent, collect payments from a 
parent living in another state, or establish 
paternity so custodial parents become 
eligible to collect support.

If you are having trouble collecting child 
support, you should call the CSEU or an 
attorney. Most CSEU services are free if you 
have ever received Temporary Assistance for 
Needy Families (TANF) benefits. Others 
may be charged a $25 per year fee under 
certain circumstances. Contact an attorney 
or the CSEU for additional information.

Income withholding
To ensure that custodial parents receive 

support with less risk of default and 
delay, all new or newly modified child 
support orders require that payments be 
immediately withheld from the wages or 
other income of the obligated parent, unless 
other arrangements have been made by the 
parties. This method of enforcement may 
also be used if the obligated parent refuses 
to pay medical support.

Tax refund and lottery interception
The CSEU can intercept a parent’s 

federal and/or state income tax refund 
checks as well as lottery winnings of $600 
or more for failing to pay child support.

NYS Tax Department action
The Tax Department has the authority to 

collect child support if four or more months 
of support is owed.

License suspension
If support is four or more months late, 

the CSEU can suspend the driver license 
of the parent. The court can also suspend 
professional, business and recreational 
licenses of the obligated parent.

Notifying credit bureaus
If the obligated parent has failed to 

pay $1,000 or two months in support, the 
CSEU can notify the major credit rating 
agencies to prevent extension of credit.

Making the obligated 
parent post a cash deposit

If the custodial parent convinces the 
court that other enforcement methods will 
not work, the court can order the obligated 
parent to deposit a sum of money with 
the CSEU or a private attorney.  Support 
payments can then be deducted from the 
money whenever there is a default.
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